Day 3: Light Moments.

I just finished watching the US Presidential debate and I’m proud to say that I didn’t drink! The frustration of the political discourse in this country drives many to drink–but not this guy! Not anymore!

I had one moment at work today that made me feel so overwhelmed that I thought, “Dag, cut out early, go get a drink. You’ll feel better.” The moment passed when I stopped, took a few deep breaths, and read the history of the Serenity Prayer on Wikipedia. While not exactly a moment of prayer–reflection maybe, or looking for another perspective–reading that post did help to bring another, better voice into my racing mind. That’s not to say I’m against prayer in any way–I’m just not there yet. In any case, the words of that prayer stopped me from doing something stupid and fortified me to make it through the rest of the day.

And what a day it was! This morning I had a meeting at a hotel in Cambridge, Massachusetts. I parked my car in the hotel garage, took the elevator up to the hotel lobby, and who was there? None other than the Dalai Freakin’ Lama! What struck me most was how the whole lobby was abuzz yet the Dalai Lama was calm and compassionate. His energy seemed to waft over all of us. It was pretty magical, really. What a great start to my day.

Speaking of which, I highly recommend the Dalai Lama’s book The Art of Happiness. I read it in high school back when it came out. I remember being incredibly inspired by his words, so much so that for about six months I considered myself a Buddhist. After today’s chance encounter I think I’ll take another look at it. In fact, I still have my original copy of the book with my 16-year-old-self’s margin notes. It’ll be interesting to see what I saw in the book then and what I see now.

Completely unrelated to that, when I got home around 7pm we had an EARTHQUAKE! The epicenter was in Maine, which is probably about 60 or 70 miles from my home in Boston, but I could definitely feel it shaking my house. It was small by California standards–just 4.6 on the Richter scale last I heard–but it was still big news around New England. No major damage, no injuries; just the buzzing of the earth. Good times.

So, in honor of the devastation brought by the Great New England Earthquake of 2012 I offer you the following memorial:

We will never forget. We will rebuild. Amen.

5 thoughts on “Day 3: Light Moments.

  1. We Californians will call on your rebuilding talents when the big one hits. 🙂
    Enjoying your blog. Thanks for checking out mine and leading me here–and big congratulations on your decision to quit drinking.
    –Susan

  2. “The moment passed when I stopped, took a few deep breaths, and read the history of the Serenity Prayer on Wikipedia. While not exactly a moment of prayer–reflection maybe, or looking for another perspective–reading that post did help to bring another, better voice into my racing mind.”
    ACTION! You took action. You DID something. You evaded a drink. Action is key. When action is exercised through prayer, even in the most basic form, we do not know what can happen. It’s typically pretty awesome in my experience. I am thrilled for you. The debates kind of made me want to shoot myself. Or move to another country. Damn. Anyway, so inspiring to read this, thank-you. Keep on.

  3. Just finished reading through your blog. Nice beginnings my friend. Keep reaching out for help from people you trust. There is much available to keep you moving in the direction you are going. With love, Lisa

Leave a comment